• 2014 “Inspiring Women, Inspiring Change”. International Women’s Day 2014. Presented by Women in Resource Development Corporation.
  • 2004 Memorial University of Newfoundland Graduate Students’ Union Award for Outstanding Community Service (WISE-GSS)
  • 1995 The F.A. Aldrich Science Public Awareness Award
  • 1994 The Michael Smith Award for Science Promotion in Canada 

“Inspiring Women, Inspiring Change”
International Women’s Day 2014 Presented by
Women in Resource Development Corporation

Michael Smith Award

Carolyn Emerson and Faye Murrin
Inaugural 1994 Michael Smith Award
for Science Promotion.


 WEM Scholarship Recipients

The Women in Engineering Memorial Scholarship was established to honour the memory of fourteen women who were violently murdered on December 6, 1989 because they were women. Thirteen were engineering students and one was staff support at  L’Ecole Polytechnique in Montreal. The scholarship seeks to encourage more women to study engineering, thereby increasing the contribution of women in engineering and scientific endeavours and challenging bias against women’s full participation.

At least one $2500 scholarship is awarded each year. In addition to sound scholastic ability, applicants must demonstrate a commitment to the advancement of women in Engineering fields and an active involvement in wider issues of social concern to women. Funding is provided by the MUN Faculty of Engineering & Applied Science, C-CORE, the MUN Alumni Association and individual contributions.

More InformationDescriptionApplication

2000 Susan Pike 1990  n/a
2001 Sarah Houlihan 1991 Lisa Alexander
2002 D. Allison Moyle 1992 Carolyn Lockyer
2003 Julie Browne 1993 Jennifer Mackey, Janice O’Brien
2004 Tamara O’Connell 1994 Ann Kinnie, Trina Troke
2005 Emilie Martin 1995 Karla Metcalfe
2006 Piew Soe Saw 1996 Lori Joyce, Jenni Wellon
2007 Chenel Waight 1997 Karen Horwood, Sarika Wadhawan
2008 Krista Bennett, Hannah Ploskonka 1998 Kimberley Pearce
2009 Justine Barry 1999 Sheri-Lynn Butler
2010 Ashley Sullivan    
2011 Helena Greene    
2012 Jumana Joury    
2013 Jaclyn Hynes    
2014 Alexandria Cleal    
2015 Florence Panisset, Marilen Guerra    
2016 Brianna McGrath, Rachel Tobin